☯Vegetable Stir-Fry with Black Rice ☯

20 Sep

☯ Vegetable Stir-fry with Black Rice

 

                                       Ingredients:

*Note -For a Vegetable Stir-fry you can choose any vegetable 

under the rainbow that you like  !!!!

This is a great way to use up all your produce you have on hand !!!!

 

 

  • 1 cup Tri -colored mini peppers(sliced)
  • 1 cup Portobello button mushrooms (sliced)
  • 1 cup carrots(sliced)  
  • 1 cup Broccoli (chopped)
  • 1/2 cup yellow onion (sliced)
  • 1/2 cup corn (frozen or fresh from the cob)
  • 1/2 cup peas(frozen)
  • 1-2 tbsp Earth Balance Butter spread(Dairy /Soy-free)
  • 1 tbsp Olive Oil
  • 1 tbsp Sesame Oil
  • 1 clove of garlic minced or 1 tsp gar;lic salt 
  • 1-3/4 cup of Black Rice (substitute Jasmine, Yellow,Basmati, Brown , or Wild rice)
  • 1/3 cup of Teriyaki sauce (I’m making mine soy -free)
  • Salt & Pepper to taste  
  • Dash or two,three,four, five Sriracha Sauce~
  • Garnish -sprinkle of roasted sesame seeds

Directions:

First thing first ….Make the rice ….

Follow your rice cooking instructions …

I’m trying something  new to me, Black Rice -Authentic ~Super-food  that is high in anthocyanin antioxidants…..it has higher amounts of vitamin E, contains 18 amino acids, iron, copper& carotene to name a few. Good for the kidneys,stomach & liver. It has a mild nutty taste in comparison to brown rice. 

*Note : Make sure you are using a Gluten -free Black rice, some Chinese Black rice contain a high gluten content!!!! 

Black rice has a deep black color however while cooking

 the water will turn to a deep purple …..


After the rice is done cooking set aside …..

                      Wash, Chop & Slice all vegetables  ….

Starting first with the mushrooms ….

I cook my vegetables in a  “SOMEWHAT” orderly fashion 

in a pan(or you can use a wok) to  stir-fry.  

I coat the pan with some Olive oil …

Once the mushrooms shrink in size then I add the  Earth Balance spread with garlic salt.

(I was out of fresh garlic so had to compromise)

I removed the mushrooms & set aside….

Let the Stir-fry begin !!!!!

Now for the remaining Veggies …

I added the sesame oil to the carrots & peppers

Cook for 3-4 minutes …..

Onions go in …..

 I used fresh corn from the cob, 

thanks to my Sous chef …a.k.a.-Hubby…lol!!!

In they go along with frozen peas

Lastly  I added the chopped Broccoli

and in goes back the mushrooms !!!

While the Veggies are stir-frying ……

    I was making my soy -free Teriyaki sauce….

While my husband is using a brand Teriyaki sauce, 

mine will taste just as GOOD!

Teriyaki sauce(Soy-free):

  • 1 tsp corn starch
  • 1 tbsp brown sugar
  • 1-2 tsp(squirts) Honey 
  • small drizzle of sesame oil
  • 1/3 cup CoCo Natura -Coconut Seasoning Sauce

 

I replace The CoCo Natura -Organic Coconut Seasoning Sauce

 

 in any recipe that calls for soy sauce.

 

 This has a high source of liquid Aminos 

 

&

 

65% less sodium compared to soy sauce!

Honey added to the Coconut Seasoning Sauce

Sesame oil & brown sugar went in …..

Corn starch ….

Blended all together …Done !

Add the “soy-free”

Teriyaki sauce

To the stir-fried Veggies !

(After the fact my hubby took his veggie portion out )

This is where the “yin and yang”

Comes into play….

My husband using traditional Teriyaki sauce & for me its soy-free)

Stir-fry for another 3-4  minutes 

All the veggies are well coated with flavor !!!!

Add Salt & Pepper

I always use freshly ground !!!

I also use Pink Himalayan Salt !!! 

Plate up the Black rice ….

Top with the stir-fry veggies …

Garnish with Roasted sesame seeds ….

I top my stir-fry with a lil HEAT !!!

Sriracha Sauce !!!!

Get your chop stixs out 

ENJOY!!!!!!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 304 other followers

