Apricot Oat Bars

16 Jan
  GDF- Apricot Oat Bars
  My First Gluten/Dairy -Free recipe of the New Year!
So I wanted to make a Healthy Snack since 
I’m on the New Year Resolution mode …
Get Healthy , Eat right !!!
This Recipe inspired by Giada De Laurentiis- My Italian Chef Guru.
 I was gifted her latest cookbook-“Giada’s Feel Good Food”for Christmas .
 I like to take her recipes and convert them to Gluten/Dairy -free 
 & 
Yes they are still so Yummy !!!!
These Apricot Oat Bars will be great for an afternoon snack !
Or 
A fuel treat before a workout !
Enjoy!!!!

You will need :

  • Vegetable oil cooking spray
  • 9X13X2 Baking dish or pan
  • Parchment paper or aluminum foil

Ingredients

Filling

  • 1 (13-ounce) jar apricot jam or preserves (about 1 1/4 cups)
  • 8 dried apricots, chopped into 1/4-inch pieces (about 1/3 cup)
  • Fresh Squeeze of 1/2 of Lemon

Crust

  • 1 3/4 cups Gluten-free flour(Bob’s Red Mill GF All Purpose Baking Flour)
  • 1 packed cup light brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 3/4 teaspoon fine sea salt
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
  •   1 3/4 cups Gluten -Free old-fashioned oats  (Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Rolled Oats)
  • 1 cup (4 ounces) coarsely chopped walnuts
  • 1 cup  non dairy butter spread, melted
  • 1 egg, at room temperature, beaten
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

 

Spray a 9 by 13 by 2-inch metal baking dish with vegetable oil cooking spray.

Line the bottom and sides of the pan with parchment paper or foil .

Spray the parchment paper or foil  with vegetable oil cooking spray and set aside..

 

 

Filling:
 In a small bowl, mix together the jam and the apricots. Set aside.
Optional: Add Fresh Squeezed lemon .
 Crust:
In a large bowl, whisk together the GF flour, sugar, cinnamon, salt and baking soda.
 Gluten-Free Flour

  Brown Sugar

Baking Soda

Salt
 Cinnamon

Mix until…

 All is well combined .
 Stir in the oats and walnuts.
 First chop the walnuts into small pieces .
 Add nuts to mixture and stir all together .
Add the butter, egg and vanilla and stir until incorporated.
 You can beat the egg in a separate bowl
however…
I just beat in the egg on top of mixture …
No need to dirty another bowl ..lol!
 Using a spatula or clean fingers,
lightly press half of the crust mixture onto the bottom of the prepared pan.
 Using the back of a spoon or spatula , spread the filling over the crust
leaving a 1/2-inch border around the edge of the pan.
 Cover the filling with the remaining crust mixture and gently press to flatten.
Bake until light golden, about 30 to 35 minutes.
Cool for 1 hour.
Cut into bars and store in an airtight container for up to 3 days.
I’m eating this one ..!!!

15 Responses to “Apricot Oat Bars”

  1. best skin care products April 8, 2014 at 6:48 pm #

    I don’t even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was good.
    I don’t know who you are but certainly yyou are going to a famous blogger if you aren’t already 😉 Cheers!

    • Pati's Recipes April 24, 2014 at 5:37 pm #

      Thanks I’m not a Blogger pro by no means !!! Your comment means alot !!!! Thanks !

  2. Somebody essentiall lend a hand to make sevefely articles
    I would state. This is tthe first time I frequented your
    web page aand thus far? I anazed with the anaysis you made to make this particular post extraordinary.

    Excxellent job!

  3. yust.edu April 18, 2014 at 10:12 am #

    Very nice post. I simply stumbled upon your blog annd wanted
    to mention that I hae truly enjoyed browsing your weblog posts.
    In anny case I will bbe subscribing for yourr feed and I’m hopijng you write once more vey soon!

    • Pati's Recipes April 24, 2014 at 5:41 pm #

      Thank you yust.edu !!! I will be posting some more recipes soon !!!

  4. Kim D. May 24, 2014 at 8:08 pm #

    I make these all the time for my husband for work but we FINALLY figured out he and my daughter are gluten intolerant…he has had every test known to man about his stomach issues anyway I need this recipe to be gluten free….Please Help. Thanks

    • Kim D. May 24, 2014 at 8:15 pm #

      I just read over the recipe and the ingredient list still says all purpose flour…can I just substitute say King Arthur GF flour for regular all purpose and do the recipe the same as usual??? Thanks so much.

      • Pati's Recipes May 25, 2014 at 5:30 pm #

        Thanks Kim for pointing that out…My gluten -free flour states All-Purpose on the pkg ….Made correction on recipe so no more confusion. Yes you can use King Arthur GF flour !!!! I like using Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free All Purpose Baking Flour. Hope that helps.

      • Kim D. May 25, 2014 at 6:21 pm #

        Hello again Pati…I made these this morning with the gf flour and they taste great but they aren’t holdin together very well…..do the require xanthum gum??? I didnt see this in the ingredient list. Thanks again.

      • Pati's Recipes May 25, 2014 at 9:07 pm #

        Kim, I did not add xanthum gum however all GF flour are made different. The Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free All Purpose Baking Flour has garbanzo bean flour, potato starch, tapioca flour, whole grain sweet white sorghum flour, fava bean flour. Maybe that is why they call it all purpose flour. Just a suggestion maybe try chilling the bars for an hour prior to cutting them to see if that helps. When cooking gluten free you will experience trials and errors. Also there are so many GF bloggers for you to explore just go to the top of my blog on the right hand corner you will see that I am a member of The gluten free global community just click on the logo and it will redirect you !!!! So many recipes you can make for your family !!!! I hope you become a Pati’s Recipes Follower as well. Keep in touch !

      • Kim D. May 25, 2014 at 10:48 pm #

        Thank u for getting back to me….if i use xanthum gum how much should i use in this recipe….i cant find my guidline anywhere…..thanks.

    • Pati's Recipes May 25, 2014 at 5:33 pm #

      I like using the brand Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free All Purpose Baking Flour and Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Whole Grain Rolled Oats. Hope that helps !

      • Pati's Recipes May 26, 2014 at 3:59 pm #

        Kim, I personally do not like to use xanthum gum which is a corn-based, fermented product if I don’t need to however Add 1/2 teaspoon (or less) xanthan gum or guar gum per one cup gluten-free flour used. Both xanthum gum & guar gum can cause gastrointestinal upset in some people. If you have gluten sensitivity you might have sensitivity with these binding agents too. For me I try to avoid.

  5. Pati's Recipes May 26, 2014 at 4:14 pm #

    Kim, I made Strawberry Oatmeal Bars-Gluten-Free that is located on this blog under the category Bars…and the recipe called for salt & baking soda maybe give that recipe a try !!! They were just as yummy !

Leave a Reply

